Decisions, decisions

Spending a day in the sun. Not feeling so bad about anything at the moment.

Ran into the professor who helped me get the job at the UC. As per my usual dilly-dallying I found myself in an empty classroom several hours after the end of my section. He was on his way out and, surprised that I was still hanging around, dropped in to chat a bit.

I see why friendly people are so universally admired. I do pass the occasional resolution to be more sociable, but I can’t ever keep it up. I’ve also considered resolving to be more resolute, but even just thinking about that makes me tired. One day, maybe.

So this incorrigibly friendly and helpful man asked how everything was going, about my plans for break, ideas for life after. I reported the news that I was to get parttime funding for research at Stanford. “Well that’s great!” he said.

“But, I’ve also been offered a full-time possibility here,” I added.

“Ah, but you don’t want to do this,” he laughed. “Take the research. Definitely.”

So I will.

2 thoughts on “Decisions, decisions

  1. Amalchi Castillo says:

    I look forward to your next post. I have been following them for years. I have an inexplicable admiration for your writing. You have life-learning experiences I can often relate to. Thank you

  2. Edward says:

    Enjoy the written word and am seeking new posts from you. Power to the word, really. Keep them coming. Please?

Leave a Reply

