Summer with the open windows: 2. The situation with the maggots

II. The situation with the maggots.

Mid-July: flies. It started one Saturday when I was cleaning. I swatted at them with my rag, chased them around the kitchen with a Lysol spray bottle, and took a few down. But soon more came through the hole in my screen. After dinner one evening Larisa rolled up a magazine and went to work with a business-like ferocity I’d only seen once before in my mom, in her early forties, when late one night I went to the kitchen of our one-bedroom apartment for a glass of water, and under the one bare light, found her smashing cockroaches with a vengeance, armed with a shoe.

In the days that followed it seemed that Larisa had eradicated the fly problem. I put tape over the hole in the screen.

Then: a smell. The trash needed tending, I thought; I lifted the lid. A mass of maggots moved on the underside. I had disturbed them, had turned the light on. They blinked and twisted anxiously. Several dropped to the kitchen floor.

For a minute I stood there with the lid in my hand and my mind completely blank. Then, I turned my apartment over. What the hell kills maggots? I sprayed them with Lysol; they kept moving. I tried to squish them with a paper towel but lost heart on the approach. Finally, I emptied a bottle of acetone into the underside of the lid. Did they dissolve or drown? Did I get them all? I washed everything with OxiClean. Then I mopped and re-mopped the floors. And mopped them again. For the next few days the trash bin lived in the stairwell, just in case.

Was it over? No, it was not. A week later: Baby flies.


play Sorry for laughing. It was so gross.

3 thoughts on “Summer with the open windows: 2. The situation with the maggots

  1. ~DV says:

    Wow, didn’t notice there’s a sound file included with these stories! Listened to this and went back and listened to JP Licks story. Is that really your voice? ‘Cause you sound so young! 😀 I did appreciate the emotion it portrayed.. maybe I should look into audio books.

    Also, we have fruit fly problem and I’ve spent countless hours chasing them around with a poison spray. Still a mystery where they’re coming from.

  2. ~DV says:

    Hey Lulu, I’ve realized that your blog is entirely devoid of any mention of what music do you like to listen to. Maybe your readers are due for an update!

Leave a Reply

