New Blog

Follow my new mini homesteading blog for updates related to life and living in rural Maine.

One thought on “New Blog

  1. Jesse says:

    Buying a house in Maine has become the cool kid thing to do I see–congrats. Looks very picturesque; I won’t say I’m not kind of jealous. Anyhow, regarding your EV post over there. The HV mode should adapt to your driving habits and routes and become more efficient in its management of engine power over time. I’m not sure if this applies to how the switching between EV/HV is handled in “Auto” as well, but it wouldn’t surprise me if it did. I suspect that using charge mode is generally not truly more efficient overall except perhaps in cases where you’re operating way outside the typical performance envelope, but I’m curious to see if a clearer answer emerges with more data.

    My main frustration with the Prius Prime that I got in 2019 (aside from the dumbass infotainment screen that doesn’t have a volume knob) is that they neglected to equip it with a 6.6kW charger, instead providing 3.3kW max. At least the RAV4 Prime is *available* with 6.6kW. It would be much nicer to be able to take advantage of the full capability of run of the mill public L2 chargers, even with the smaller traction battery in the Prius. At 6.6kW the Prius Prime would gain range at about 25-30mph, which would give me 12-15 miles for a typical Target run where I can plug into a free Chargepoint station while I obtain my precious toilet paper and seltzer (to be used separately).

Leave a comment